Leadership Team

Vice President Gas and Integration Lead

Dave Jillett was appointed as leader of the Commercial Negotiations team within North West Shelf Gas Pty Ltd in January 2021. Seconded from Shell, Dave leads a team responsible for the ongoing management and administration of the obligations under the suite of contractual relationships with LNG buyers.

Dave has over 23 years of experience in the oil and gas industry, across the full hydrocarbon value chain, from exploration to shipping, and in a variety of settings including; Australia, North Asia, Russia and Europe. He has had extensive experience of LNG projects having been responsible for various aspects of Shell’s interest in the NWS Project for the past 11 years and having been seconded into the Sakhalin 2 Project for 3 years. 

Dave holds a Master of Science (Geology) and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

General Manager, Gas Processing


Stewart Gallagher re-joined North West Shelf Gas in September 2020 as Vice President Commercial Operations, responsible for managing the operation and administration of the various North West Shelf joint LNG sale and purchase agreements.

 Stewart has over 34 years’ experience in the oil and gas industry, having held various commercial and marketing positions in integrated gas, oil refining and petrochemical businesses based in Australia and New Zealand.  He is seconded from Woodside and his involvement with the North West Shelf Project dates back to 2002.

 Stewart holds a postgraduate degree in Chemistry from The University of Auckland, New Zealand, and an MBA (Executive) from The Australian Graduate School of Management.

Principal Counsel

Valeria Cooney joined North West Shelf in October 2011. 

Valeria has over 20 years’ of legal experience, with a particular focus in the energy and resources sectors.   She commenced her legal career in Western Australia, and then spent 6 years working in London before returning to Perth in 2006.

Valeria holds a Bachelor of Laws degree from The University of Western Australia.